Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 8 123456 ... LastLast

Default I want a new MIG!!!

Hi, I'm now contemplating the replacement/upgrade of my Hobart Handler 150... I have a new Dynasty 200DX for TIG and stick, and like having the MIG as well. I am finally getting around to building/fabricating tool stands, tables, etc. I am a hobbyist and not using for a business, however I appreciate the quality of tools. I have at times needed to weld 3/8" and 1/2" material and this is not so well done with an air cooled TIG or the HH150.

The new Millermatic 252 really strikes my interest. It is probably more machine than needed and for that matter, I can get by with what I have, but!...this new stuff is really neat and I like it!

My Dynasty 200DX and Hypertherm 45 are awesome, a whole new world of welding... Next major project might be making a CNC Plasma table...

Am I crazy not to get one at $2250, or why should I not upgrade to the Millermatic 252?
    Glen
    Miller Dynasty 200DX - Millermatic 350P - Hypertherm Powermax 45
    For Sale! - Hobart Handler 150 - Miller EconoTwin HF

It would be a great addition to your arsenal. When I weld things with 1/2" I like to make nice big beads and you can't do that with a little machine!

www.facebook.com/outbackaluminumwelding
    Miller Dynasty 700...OH YEA BABY!!
    MM 350P...PULSE SPRAYIN' MONSTER
    Miller Dynasty 280 with AC independent expansion card
    Miller Dynasty 200 DX "Blue Lightning"

Miller Bobcat 225 NT (what I began my present Biz with!)
    Miller 30-A Spoolgun
    Miller WC-115-A
    Miller Spectrum 300
    Miller 225 Thunderbolt (my first machine bought new 1980)
    Miller Digital Elite Titanium 9400

Do you really need a 252 ? If you want to do thick material then yes, the 252 is awesome ! Remember , mig prefers cleaner material too. Do you need more duty cycle ? Then yes.