Miller/JEGS NHRA Competition Eliminator Shootout Winner Awarded

Miller/JEGS NHRA Competition Eliminator Shootout Winner Awarded

Print Article

Miller/JEGS NHRA Competition Eliminator Shootout Winner Awarded



Chuck Haubiel, Rick Brown, David Billingsley and Brian Browell squared off in the Miller / JEGS Competition Eliminator Shootout presented by NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event at the Aug. 26-28, 2011 Beech Bend Raceway Park in Bowling Green, Ky.  The four earned a spot in the special race-within-a-race through a point series that included points for eliminations and qualifying position at North Central Division events this season.


Chuck Haubiel won the shootout beating Brian Browell in the final. Miller TIG product manager John Swartz was on-site to present the welding package including a Miller Diversion™ 180 TIG welder, Hobart filler metals, Weldcraft tungstens and Weldcraft Triad tungsten grinder. Haubiel also received a variety of Miller Arc Armor® welding protection including a Digital Elite auto-darkening helmet, welding jacket and TIG Gloves.


Runner-up Browell was awarded $2,000 in JEGS gift certificates and each of the semi-finalists (Billingsley and Brown) received $250.   


To qualify for the shootout, all points earners had to run the “Miller Welders” contingency decals on their car and fill out a registration card.  In addition to the Competition Eliminator Shootout, Miller also donated a Miller Digital Elite auto-darkening helmet for each race that was to be awarded to the racer that qualified in the top spot in the bottom half of the ladder. 


The shootout awards were part of an overall bonus non-contingent award payout that added over $30,000 in cash and prizes to Comp eliminator racers at 2011 North Central Division events.

Updated: February 5, 2020