Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Syncrowave 250 Dx Owners?

Hello,
    I am new to this board and have found some good info. I especially like the pics of projects you guys post. I am fairly new to welding and am taking a class in Memphis. I just bought a 250 DX and am looking at the connection charts in the manual. I was curious what tips you guys may have for initial setup. I have 200 amp service in my shop but I am curious if I should straight wire this to a breaker or can I use a plug. I have a 50 amp breaker I use with my mig. Any help would be appreciated.

Jetmekdc-10, welcome to the forum, I straight wired my Synchrowave 250 to the 100 amp breaker, as far as I know, there are not any plugs rated that high, if there are, they cost a bunch. I was advised not to use two 50 amp breakers also, even though I did for a short time. The machine defenitly needs 100 amp service. Hope this helps ya out, you are going to like that big girl....Paul

Thanks for the info. I think I will go ahead and wire it straight to my breaker box. I may try using a heavy enough wire to have ten or fifteen feet of slack. Thanks again

Jetmekdc-10, I believe an 8 guage 3 conductor wire should do ya, but it would not hurt to go to 6 guage, if anybody has any input, please speak up. What does it say in the manual???? Paul
    More Spark Today Please

Paul, Thanks for the advice, I am going to use a 100 amp c/b and #6 wire with about 20 feet of length. That should work. Thanks

Default Coolant Flow