Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: MM250X burn in

Hybrid View

Default MM250X burn in

Hi, I have a MM250X without meters KK 1999 model with very little run time on it but I have a lot of problems with the burn in? It's real bad about poping back to the tip and burning off when I start out it may do it 10 times out of 20 starts. I try to start with the wire cut about about 1/2 to 3/4 of an inch long(stick out) I was told by a couple people that adjusting the burn in might cure it and I was also told that the 251's have an easy way to adjust the burn in..do any of you know how I can adjust it on my 250x? I've had a lot of electrical experience as I used to wire new homes and I've built-repaired computers for the last 10 years so going inside adjusting wouldn't be a problem for me if I knew where to go. I'm running 035 ER 70S6 solid wire and 75/25 gas with a new Bernard Q-200 amp gun 15` Any and all help appreciated!
    Thanks, Farris Young
    Last edited by fyoung; 12-29-2005 at 12:37 AM. Reason: added to it

I know from past experience that there is an adjustment that can easily be made on a board inside the machine to help your problem. I have done probably a dozen or more of them in the past, but unfotunately it's been long enough ago that I'm afraid I can't walk you through it without looking at a machine. I know you have to turn a dial with a small screwdriver one way or the other. My advise would be to contact a local Miller distributor that you do business with. If they ever sold many 250X's, I'm sure they've done this many times.

Default 250