Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default I am wanting to learn to weld and have a few questions

I was going to pick this welder up and was wondering if its an ok deal or should I just get a new one.

This guy wants 100 for welder and 25 for regulator for tank.

pittsburgh.craigslist.org/tls/267406770.html

Do you think its worth it. I have never welded anything and was wondering if this would be ok to start with. If not can you direct me to one that would be a good one to start of with. I am a carpenter so welding is all new to me.

Any info would be greatly appreciated?

Thank you in advance!
    Last edited by envano; 08-21-2007 at 03:16 PM. Reason: broken link

Startford, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

It depends on if wirefeed is what you want. Id go for it but If i were youy id test it out first or get someone you know who knows about welding to go with you to see if its actually worth buying or if its just going to break down. But if it was me I would probly go for it.

ask someone you know that can weld to try it out (I would buy it if i know how it welded

Inferno Forge

Chris

Ya I would but I dont know any welders.

But as long as you think its an ok deal if it works right. What would that be capable of welding if it does work. can you tell me what kind of projects that would handle?

I dont really know anything about it. Like I said I am a carpenter. So this is all really new to me. I am thinking maybe I should go take a welding fundamentals class maybe at the local community college.

do you think it would be better for me to just get something like this

http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio...170&lpage=none

or this

http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio...8-1&lpage=none

or is there one out there that is a bit better that has more capability for not much more.

Thanks a million!!!