Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Default Syncrowave 250 DX vs Dynasty 200 DX

I'm new to Tig and am having a hard time choosing between the Syncrowave 250 DX and the Dynasty 200 DX. It will be used in my shop (230V) so portability is not really an issue. I'll be welding mostly really light steel (mild/stainless) and aluminum but some thicker material up to about 1/4-3/8". Which one is better for really thin stuff? What are the upper and lower limits on thicknesses for both machines? Also, which one is more reliable with longer life. Could you guys give me the pros and cons on each machine?

Thanks,
    Bruce

Skybolt,

Welcome,

My first thoughts are to go with the Syncrowave 250 if portability and power requirements are not issues. The 3/8" will be multi-pass for the Dynasty 200DX. However, the Dynasty 300DX is also a good choice. You can figure approximately 1 amp welding output per .001" inch material thickness. This is a general rule and the D200DX being an inverter power supply will actually do 1/4" or .250 in a single pass where the Syncrowave will probably require closer to 250 amps.

Both machines will perform on the "thin stuff". The D200DX has a built in pulse function with all the goodies: pulse, slope, sequence, etc. The Syncrowave 250 can pulse with the optional pulse module. The Dynasty DX will probably perform the best within its amperage, particularly on AC for aluminum and magnesium, because of the extra adjustments: frequency adjustment for a tighter more focused arc, adjustable electrode negative balance for the correct amount of cleaning (less EN balance) or more penetration ( more EN on the balance control).