Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Cool Can I wire an engine driven welder in to 3 phase?

Hi everyone, this is my first post. I'm a welder from Canada, working in Calgary. I've recently purchased a Big Blue engine driven welder, and am eager to put it to work for me. So here's the question...When I was an apprentice, I worked with a rig welder who told me that he had wired his Big Blue in to 3 phase 480V service at a construction site he contracted at thus eliminating the need to burn fuel, but still being able to weld with it. Was he full of crap, or is there some truth to this? I tried to google it, but this is pretty specific and i figured that this would be the best place to find an answer.

Guy probably told you to check the spark plug gap on your diesel too. Get real, your making us Canadians look stupid....

The only unit that could be hooked into shop power was the pipepro304, and 230 shop power only.
    Last edited by cruizer; 08-23-2014 at 11:04 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by cruizer View Post
    Guy probably told you to check the spark plug gap on your diesel too. Get real, your making us Canadians look stupid....

The only unit that could be hooked into shop power was the pipepro304, and 230 shop power only.
    Hey dude, no need to be a **** about it. It was a simple question, and here's the answer i was looking for, provided by you. I don't need to use my big blue in this manner, but i was just checking to see if it was an option. Thanks.

A big blue what? ,there are many....

NO. Simple answer from someone who has worked in industrial / commercial related electrical field since 1962.
    Miller MultiMate 200 MIG/ Stick/TIG
    Retired
    Journeyman Refrigeration Pipefitter
    Master Electrician
    Amateur Home shop Machinist & Welder

Quote Originally Posted by Timbo23 View Post