Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Next model TIG inverter pulsing suggestion for Miller

I'm only a noob, but I play with my Dynasty 200 DX's pulsing a lot. One thing that I reckon would be super useful is to display the average amps that a particular pulse configuration gives. I can calculate it myself, but it's too much for me to do in my head on the fly so I just wing it and often get it wrong. E.g. today I was doing some stuff with reasonably thick mild steel, maybe 0.120" or 0.140", and started at 40% peak, 40% background and 150A main amps. That wasn't enough so I kicked it up to 160A and then further to 170A but still not enough. In hindsight after running it through my calculator it was still too low.

On the computer I have a programming environment called Python so it's a 2-liner to put in my algorithm:

Code:
    >>> def pulse(peak, background, main):
        return peak / 100 * main + (1 - peak / 100) * background / 100 * main
    >>> pulse(40, 40, 150)
    >>> pulse(40, 40, 160)
    >>> pulse(40, 40, 170)

but as you can see I was too low and should have bumped up some of the parameters. Rather than having to come inside and fire up the computer, it would be great to have some way of displaying the average amperage output on the machine once you set in the pulse parameters. Unless it's already there and I just don't know about it?

E.g. today it would have saved me making a mistake when I thought I was in the right ballpark initially. I then had to fix it. No big deal but I ended up putting in too much heat by running over my mistake a second time to ensure penetration.

I tend to use two modes, 1 PPS for butts and 150 PPS for fillets, same pulse parameters just changing the frequency.

Quote Originally Posted by Legion View Post