Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Default Wiring a new home workshop

I am not an electrician but I do have a little bit of experience in house wireing and a lot more experience wiring boats and automobiles. What I wanted to do here is just toss out some thoughts for guys who want to run dedicated circuits into their home shops safely.

You know why the line to your shiny new welder has a fuse (circuit breaker) in it? It is not there to protect your welder or any other terminal device. Nope, that ain't it. The breaker is there for one purpose and one only. Its there to protect the wire - which in likelyhood is inside a wall where it can't be seen or monitored for heat build up.

If your house is somewhat new it likely that you have a breaker panel (fuse box) that is rated at 200 amps. Right at its top it will have a main breaker of that capacity. The actual service to your home may very well be higher powered than that, ours for instance has 360 amp service going in. My point is that the entrance defines how much you have to work with in total.

When you decide to wire an outlet for your home-shop welder it is important that you know how much power it will consume at its highest use and the build in over protection from the breaker all the way to the welder's plug. You can never be too safe when it comes to the potential for home fires.

So, you start by determining what your maximum load will be and then you build to accommodate it. I'll give a real-life example in a moment. By build to accommodate I mean to size your breaker, wires, and outlet to the task at hand. The bigger the wire the more power it can carry safely. How big? Well, its a matter of amperes (amps). More amps demand heavier wire. Here are some simple guidelines:

14 ga. wire is good for up to 15 amps