Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums
 
Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Highland, Ca
    Posts
    49

    Default Wiring home Syncrowave 250 the right way..... have some ????

    Just moved to a new house. We have 200Amp service and I wanted to finally hook my Syncrowave 250 up properly in the garage. Just replaced its main board and heard some horror stories of boards going bad because of inadequate power supply.

    The manual stated that it requires ~94amp at full tilt and requires a max of 125amp breaker with 4 gauge wire. with 6 gauge ground


    So im installing a dedicated 100amp breaker in the box just for the welder which is about 25' from the breaker box.


    I currently have:

    100Amp Murry breaker
    60' 4 gauge
    30' 6 gauge
    30' 1" conduit

    Im worried about the plug though. I plug my LWS gave me for my sync 250 is only rated @ 50Amps.

    I've looked at my LWS and home depot and all they sell are 30/50amp female plugs for 220V. Im afraid that the plug will be my weak link and may over heat eventually. Does anyone sell 100-125 Amp rated plugs?

    Also in regards to the ground do I hook the #6 to the ground in the panel or directly to the ground rod the panel is attached to?

    -Nick

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    2,862

    Default

    Those machines are usually hardwired in to a Line Disconnect type of box- so no plug.
    Ed Conley
    http://www.screamingbroccoli.net/
    MM252
    MM211
    Passport Plus w/Spool Gun
    TA185
    Miller 125c Plasma 120v
    O/A set
    SO 2020 Bender
    You can call me Bacchus

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    204

    Default

    I think that is is the general code requirement, that hard wired equipment have an external disconnect, which could be a breaker or other disconnect, near the machine. Probably it is cheaper to install a small box with a breaker. This might be called an emergency disconnect.

    Plugs over 50 amps are generally prohibitively expensive.

    Richard



    Quote Originally Posted by Broccoli1 View Post
    Those machines are usually hardwired in to a Line Disconnect type of box- so no plug.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    northern NJ
    Posts
    1,847

    Default

    I run my syncro 250 with a 50 amp plug. Never had an issue. 100 amp plugs are very expensive. If you are worried then wire it direct.
    MM250
    Trailblazer 250g
    22a feeder
    Lincoln ac/dc 225
    Victor O/A
    MM200 black face
    Whitney 30 ton hydraulic punch
    Lown 1/8x 36" power roller
    Arco roto-phase model M
    Vectrax 7x12 band saw
    Miller spectrum 875
    30a spoolgun w/wc-24
    Syncrowave 250
    RCCS-14

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by MMW View Post
    I run my syncro 250 with a 50 amp plug. Never had an issue. 100 amp plugs are very expensive. If you are worried then wire it direct.
    +1....

    I have seen MANY Sync's and similar amp draw machines set up with 6-50 plugs
    and never heard of any problems...
    I know it is not code but it is common practice...
    Last edited by H80N; 02-04-2014 at 04:00 PM.
    .

    *******************************************
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know......

    “The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten”

    Buy the best tools you can afford.. Learn to use them to the best of your ability.. and take care of them...

    My Blue Stuff:
    Dynasty 350DX Tigrunner
    Dynasty 200DX
    Millermatic 350P w/25ft Alumapro & 30A
    Millermatic 200

    TONS of Non-Blue Equip, plus CNC Mill, Lathes & a Plasmacam..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Highland, Ca
    Posts
    49

    Default

    Ok I guess i'll just run it as is with the 6-50A plug I have....

    Thanks Guys!!!

    Any word on the grounding directly at the panel or the grounding rod? I assume both are the same... but would just like some reassurance.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Wa
    Posts
    557

    Default

    I don't see what good doing a home run for the ground all the way to the rod would do. Unless your grounding rod's wire is too small (based on local codes). If everything seems fine I would just wire it to the grounding bus and see if you have any problems.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    16919 Pole Rd. Brethren, MI 49619
    Posts
    4,383

    Default

    Its grounded thru the wire to the panel.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock
    Posts
    41

    Default Polarity Question

    Reading this thread, it occurred to me that when replacing the power cord plug on my MillerMatic 130 a few months ago I failed to pay any attention to polarity when attaching the new plug.
    I don't use this welder very often but it has seemed erratic during the brief times I have used it lately.
    Question is, does it matter which power cord wire goes to which position of the plug and if so how do I now determine which wire goes where?
    I realize this is somewhat off topic, but it doesn't seem to justify beginning a new thread
    Any help would be appreciated.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    7,742

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dkennett View Post
    Reading this thread, it occurred to me that when replacing the power cord plug on my MillerMatic 130 a few months ago I failed to pay any attention to polarity when attaching the new plug.
    I don't use this welder very often but it has seemed erratic during the brief times I have used it lately.
    Question is, does it matter which power cord wire goes to which position of the plug and if so how do I now determine which wire goes where?
    I realize this is somewhat off topic, but it doesn't seem to justify beginning a new thread
    Any help would be appreciated.
    On a 130, its silver to the white and bronze to the black cause your running to the 120 VAc. Still work the other way but you;ll bypass and circuit protection, and that might be bad.
    Last edited by cruizer; 02-08-2014 at 04:01 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/footer.inc.php on line 82

Welding Projects

Special Offers: See the latest Miller deals and promotions.