Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Hybrid View

Default Newbie needs Alum/steel mig rig!

I know the information is out there but I wanted to post up to speed up the learning curve.

I am a mechanic with my dad at our own place and currently get by with a cheapy mig flux wire rig which has done all my body work/fab needs thus far.

I seek this help as I am planning a Jet Jon Boat custom build. A jet ski engine will be installed into a Jon boat.

Considerations:
    Thin metals down to the gage of a stock Jon boat hull MIXED with possible bottom strengthening/remodeling of thicker sheet aluminum.

Clean like alloys for all add on aluminums BUT possible odd ball alloys in the jet ski pump systems such as the cast aluminum "shoe" that will be bolted to the hull (basically houses the impeller and is a closed cast tunnel for the jet water flow.

I COULD just bolt the cast shoe pump tunnel to the hull but I figure ill throw that out there since this is always something to consider when customizing existing aluminums

SO, what are the opinions out there for basically a light weight aluminum rig which can also handle like wise gages for steel up to roughly 1/4" on either would be awesome. Budget is a thing, but I know from growing up that I aint trying to pinch pennies here.
    So im looking for a basic yet tuneable little rig to make me smile after using junk for so long!

Hobart Ironman230

Mig aluminum is generally only good down to 16g- but 16g is real tricky.

Video-
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8AT4cEHtMn8

Steel- no problem

http://www.northerntool.com/shop/too...6174_200456174
    Ed Conley
    http://www.screamingbroccoli.net/
    MM252
    MM211
    Passport Plus w/Spool Gun
    TA185
    Miller 125c Plasma 120v
    O/A set
    SO 2020 Bender
    You can call me Bacchus