Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums
 
Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 31
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    7,844

    Default

    Now the HF only starts the arc, doesn't matter if its AL or steel. The inverter monitors the arc after starting, so thats all your after. But you realize this right.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    7,844

    Default

    maybe get me the correct serial# too

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    27

    Default

    The correct SN is - LH500798L. I do understand that HF is not continuous 100%, but with my torch isolated from the workpiece and pedal depressed or A-B jumpered the HF spark gap should be continuious until a weld arc is sensed by the machine.

    The outlet I plug my welder into is a NEMA6-50 wired into a subpanel for the garage. The garage subpanel has a good ground rod driven into the ground about 4 feet from the panel. The welder outlet wiring runs straight into the subpanel and is tied into the ground bus. There are no other active circuits in that panel while I'm welding.
    Last edited by wumpscut223; 12-02-2013 at 02:02 PM.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    7,844

    Cool

    Did you use the Black and the white wires for the welder, or did you use the red.

    Don't really care much where the panel is, The ground rod is kinda pointless unless you know exactly what the soil conditions are

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    27

    Default

    The two hot wires from the breaker (Black and white) are hooked to the two top lugs of the switch in the welder. I am running it single phase. Measured between them is a perfect 239VAC. Measured between either one and the ground is 120VAC.
    Last edited by wumpscut223; 12-02-2013 at 04:44 PM.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    7,844

    Default

    We never measure to frame ground from the hots, mostly because it means NOTHING. Anyway, just reopened the online manual, and that is correct.

    So have a looksee at the other stuff I mentioned. I'm leaving for the day and don't answer posts at home.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    27

    Default

    The only two items you mentioned that I couldn't check are:

    Torch - I don't have a second one to test

    Relays - I don't see anything externally burnt, but I don't know which I need to check. I finished most of the Troubleshooting section last night:

    Pg 82 Schematic Test Values
    R1,R2 =.3Ohm
    R3,R4 = 198 and 200 ohm
    R5 = I couldn't find where to check
    R6 = I couldn't find where to check
    R7 = One of the contacts here is labeled HF-XFMR (High Frequency Transformer?) I don't know how to test R7 because of the C3 capacitor in series with BUS-CTR. It appears this is a winding on T1. T1 pins are unlabeled on the PC3 board. Do you know how the pins are assigned?
    R8 = .2Ohm
    R9 = .3Ohm
    R10 = .5Ohm

    V1 = 16.1
    V2 = I don't know where to check. I don't see violet wires as labeled. This appears to be on T2, the main torriod transformer. I don't see any violet wires leaving it.
    V3 = 234
    V4 = 116.6
    V5 = 18.9
    V6 = 18.9
    V7 = 676
    V8 = 25V? Why is this low?
    V9 = 468
    V10 = 468
    V11 = Not checked
    V12 = -15
    V13 = +15
    V15 = No Voltage This should read +24, right?
    V16 = No Voltage This should read +24, right?
    V17 = +15
    V18 = +10
    V19 = +12 and waveform is good.


    PC1 Test Point Values
    RC1-1 to RC1-2 = 3.7
    RC2-1 to RC2-4 = 934
    RC6-3 to RC6-7 = 3.7
    RC6-5 = 14.7
    RC6-9 = 5
    RC6-11 = 5
    RC6-12 = 5 - The description says this means I have a Primary error? No help codes are displayed, do you agree this should read 0? If so what should I check?
    RC6-13 = 18.8
    RC7-1 = 15
    RC7-2 = 15
    RC8-1 to RC8-2 = 15
    RC8-3 to RC8-2 = 4.8

    LEDS ALL OFF

    PC3 Test Point Values
    RC20 to RC21 = .6? This voltage is out of limits
    RC25-1 to RC25-3 = .4 Is this OK?
    RC26-1 to RC26-2 = 16
    RC26-4 to RC26-5 = 16

    PC5 Test Point Values
    RC1 Checks = Tested as per PG 86
    RC2 Checks = Tested as per PG 86
    RC5 Checks = Tested as per PG 86
    RC7-1 to RC7-2 = 15
    RC7-9 to RC7-2 = No Wire, No volts noted - This isn't correct is it?
    RC7-16 to RC7-10 = 935
    RC8-1 to RC8-3 = 321.6
    RC9-1 to RC9-6 = 16
    RC9-3 to RC9-10 = No Wire Present (Do I need a probe that will fit deeply into the socket?)
    RC9-4 to RC9-5 = No Wire Present
    RC9-8 to RC9-10 = 18.8
    RC9-9 to RC9-5 = Not Checked
    RC10-1 = Not Checked
    RC10-2 = Not Checked
    RC11-1 = Not Checked
    RC11-2 = Not Checked
    RC11-4 = Not Checked
    RC11-5 = Not Checked
    RC11-6 = 25 Is this OK?

    LED1 = OFF


    PC6 Test Point Values
    RC1-1 = 0
    RC1-2 = 0
    RC1-3 = 0
    RC11-1 = 3.6
    RC11-2 = 3.7
    RC11-3 = No Wire
    RC11-7=4.9
    RC11-14 = 5
    RC11-15 = 5
    RC11-16 = 14.7
    RC13-22 = 15
    RC14-1 to RC-14-8 = Erratic with Amphenol A-B jumpered or not.
    RC14-3 = 25
    RC15-2 = 14.6
    RC15-3 = 4.9
    RC15-4 = 4.9
    RC15-6 = 4.2
    RC15-12 = 4.9
    RC15-14 = 4.9
    RC15-17 = 4.9 Does this seem high?
    RC15-18 = 4.9 Does this seem high?
    RC16-1 = +15
    RC16-2 = -15
    RC16-3 = =25
    RC16-4 = -25
    RC17-2 = 4.9
    RC18-6 = 10
    RC18-8 = 15

    PC7 Test Point Values
    RC1-1 to RC1-3 = 321.6
    RC2-1 to RC2-2 = Erratic. No appreciable voltage, no steady ~700hz.

    PC8 Test Point Values
    RC1-1 to RC1-2 = 16
    RC1-3 to RC1-6 = 4.9
    RC1-4 to RC1-5 = 16.1
    RC1-9 to RC1-8 = No Wire at RC1-8
    RC2-1 to RC2-4 = 935


    What do you think?

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    7,844

    Default

    Pay the piper, and take the unit in to a CST Miller tech. If they have no CST guys, take it, or send it somewhere else.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Aww, this is just as I was beginning to have fun... I don't want to give up.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    27

    Default

    This info is for anyone who has a similar problem. My original idea regarding the source that drives the HF board was correct. PC6 SENDS the signal to the PC7 board that tells the PC7 board how fast and when to make HF. The 700Hz signal that we couldn't find was not coming out of the PC6.

    I replaced my PC6 board with a brand new PC6. Problem solved. The initial info from the troubleshooting/service manual was good.

    Thanks for your help over those weeks Cruizer.

    Case closed.
    Last edited by wumpscut223; 01-19-2014 at 05:07 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/footer.inc.php on line 82

Welding Projects

Special Offers: See the latest Miller deals and promotions.