Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Hybrid View

Default beginner to business owner

I just need a couple of pushes in the right direction, I've been welding for about two years now, mostly mig but I really enjoy tig. I would like to eventually work my way to having a business of my own, maybe a fab shop, but don't know what would be good, solid first steps. Any advice is helpful no matter how minor, thank

Posting your location would be a good first step.

Listing your skills is another.
    Nothing welded, Nothing gained

Miller Dynasty700DX
    3 ea. Miller Dynasty350DX
    Miller Dynasty200DX
    ThermalArc 400 GTSW
    MillerMatic350P
    MillerMatic200 with spoolgun
    MKCobraMig260
    Lincoln SP-170T
    Linde UCC305 (sold 2011)
    Hypertherm 1250
    Hypertherm 800
    PlasmaCam CNC cutter
    Fadal Toolroom CNC Mill
    SiberHegner CNC Mill
    2 ea. Bridgeport
    LeBlond 15" Lathe
    Haberle 18" Cold Saw
    Doringer 14" Cold Saw
    6 foot x 12 foot Mojave granite

Get a job with a company doing what you want to do. Learn the industry first, build up Capitol, buy equipment, work at night a home until you are so busy that you have no free time. Then start out on your own.

Quote Originally Posted by walker View Post
    Get a job with a company doing what you want to do. Learn the industry first, build up Capitol, buy equipment, work at night a home until you are so busy that you have no free time. Then start out on your own.
    I have to add that this is probably spot on. If you can get enough work to use up all your free time at home then you have a great chance of setting off into a welding career.

Getting that many customers with an at home shop may be difficult. For one, you need a roomy shop and location that looks like a welding business and allows you to bring in large trailers, boats and construction equipment.