Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Default Welding Titanium Question

Hey everyone,

New here, but Ive done a good amount of searching around I still have a question.
    I've been welding Chromoly and aluminum for about 3 yrs, self taught and i have had the opportunity to learn to weld Ti at work. i purchased a large gas lens set up and a #15 cup and I made some purge plugs and am back purging the weld area. The weld color is acceptable from what i understand (silver/straw) but i am getting slight discoloration away from the weld bead area (see picture) is this okay? or is this just as bad as discoloration in the weld? If its bad any possible solutions you can recommend? Thanks!

- Conor

.035 Ti Tubing
    Machine set to 80ish amps
    1/16 tungsten (ceriated)
    pre flow .5s
    post flow (ive tried up to 15seconds)
    Torch flow (25cfh)
    ti weld.jpg
    torch.jpg
    purge.jpg

I have never welded Ti but I would say that is not a problem and I would have even expected more.

Less color may be desired but I doubt possible. I know some like a purge box to put the entire part in.

By any chance can you remember slowing down in the areas with the most purple? Well after looking at it again you can tell its towards the ends of your run where the heat was building.

My response isn't helping you but I'd like to learn more about it also. If I get involved and get slapped around a bit, maybe I'll remember.

That bead it pretty spaced out. Tighten it up also the leg length looks way oversized for .035 wall tubing. Turn down the amps.
    Miller syncrowave 200 runner with coolmate 4
    and wp2025 weldcraft torch
    Miller 125c plasma cutter