Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums
 
Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default mm 350P WITH HELP CODE 3

    changed gun out , still has help code 3 when powered up

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,265

    Question

    This is what the manual has to say..

    Help 3
    Indicates gun trigger was pulled and held
    during power up. Release gun trigger and
    clear fault condition. Also, this display can
    Indicate no open circuit voltage detected
    when gun trigger is pulled and no arc
    detected within 3 seconds. Turn off primary
    input power and contact a Factory
    Authorized Service Agent


    http://www.millerwelds.com/om/o1327ah_mil.pdf

    Page 49

    Have found over the years that the help codes may indicate a condition or conditions totally different than what the manual says... many times something simple like a reset to factory defaults may clear the errors..

    sometimes conflicting program commands will confuse it and throw out odd error codes...

    Cruzer or one of the Miller factory Techs probably have some ideas..
    Last edited by H80N; 09-04-2013 at 09:17 AM.
    .

    *******************************************
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know......

    “The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten”

    Buy the best tools you can afford.. Learn to use them to the best of your ability.. and take care of them...

    My Blue Stuff:
    Dynasty 350DX Tigrunner
    Dynasty 200DX
    Millermatic 350P w/25ft Alumapro & 30A
    Millermatic 200

    TONS of Non-Blue Equip, plus CNC Mill, Lathes & a Plasmacam..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Appleton, Wisconsin U.S.A.
    Posts
    146

    Default

    Try disconnecting the gun trigger lead from the machine and turn on the power. If the problem remains you will need to take it into a service station. If the problem goes away then you have had some bad guns.

    Let us know how it turns out!

    Thanks,
    Miller Welding Forum Administrator

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    7,909

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by STEELREELIN View Post
    changed gun out , still has help code 3 when powered up

    disconnect your spoolgun as well, if its there, I find that when powering up (no pressing the trigger) that 99.9% of the time its a stuck or shorted trigger.

    If you hit the trigger and that error turns on, then yes you have a internal problem.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    thanks, blowed out machine, wiped off some metal filings on the top board and code 3 went away. welded with machine everything seems good.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,265

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by STEELREELIN View Post
    thanks, blowed out machine, wiped off some metal filings on the top board and code 3 went away. welded with machine everything seems good.
    Glad you got it sorted out...

    Makes a good case for Vac & Blowing them out at least once a year...

    the MM350P is just such a great MIG machine...
    Last edited by H80N; 09-04-2013 at 09:33 PM.
    .

    *******************************************
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know......

    “The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten”

    Buy the best tools you can afford.. Learn to use them to the best of your ability.. and take care of them...

    My Blue Stuff:
    Dynasty 350DX Tigrunner
    Dynasty 200DX
    Millermatic 350P w/25ft Alumapro & 30A
    Millermatic 200

    TONS of Non-Blue Equip, plus CNC Mill, Lathes & a Plasmacam..

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    7,909

    Default

    I'm glad you got it sorted out as well. buttt there isn't any top board (Horizontal), and it would be near impossible to get a filling into any of the boards inside the unit, unless it was running without the covers installed. So what really was the problem.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks, the horizontal control board was really covered with dust, and pushed connectors up tight,had tried many times before that, to get it to come on, we fabricate and do alot of grinding.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    7,909

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by STEELREELIN View Post
    Thanks, the horizontal control board was really covered with dust, and pushed connectors up tight,had tried many times before that, to get it to come on, we fabricate and do alot of grinding.
    Again, no horizontal boards in these. They are all vertical. Dust doesn't affect them anyways. So a coinsidence maybe

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    [QUOTE=cruizer;311440]Again, no horizontal boards in these. They are all vertical. Dust doesn't affect them anyways. So a coinsidence maybe[/QUO

    control board is rectangle and runs horizontal right behind the control knobs, metal filing can enter these machines really easy this machine was about 7 years old , yes, there was alot of metal dust on the horizontal soldered board.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/footer.inc.php on line 82

Welding Projects

Special Offers: See the latest Miller deals and promotions.