Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums
 
Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    New Brunswick Can
    Posts
    4

    Default Need expert help A.S.A.P.

    Hi Folks,

    I want to set up with an aluma feed system and I can get an XMT 304 at a good price.Can I use a 304 as a power source for an aluma feed, or do you have a suggestion for a pulse set up for aluminium.....I know about the 350 p and a thechnicien told me to stay away from them( pricey to repair). Most of my work for boats is aluminium.......

    Thanks for reading AG

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    27

    Default Need expert help A.S.A.P.

    I'm pretty sure you can use a xmt 304 with the alumafeed feeder but you can't pulse with it .

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    New Brunswick Can
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Alumaweld if it's not pulse I will have to pass on the 304..

    Thanks for the reply! AG

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    East Tenn
    Posts
    148

    Default Need expert help A.S.A.P.

    Can't you use for all xmt cc/cv units the optima MIG pulse controller? I pretty much thought you could. I'm not an Alum expert by any means so correct if I'm wrong but I just thought I read it somewhere.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    27

    Default Need expert help A.S.A.P.

    The only way you can technically pulse with xmt 304 is with external unit called the optima 304 pulser. I have used the optima before and my opinion is that it is junk, old technology. I would look at the invision 350 MPa if you are looking to pulse

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    7,233

    Default

    Your tech is a moron, anything with boards is pricey, but really, they don't crash too often anyways. If you scared of replacing boards, best find a machine that doesn't have any boards, but then you won't be pulsing.

    Yes, few machines have a built in pulser cept for the MPA, or 350P. The Optima 304 handles the job nicely, and happens to be the identical technogy as whats in the MPA. Setting up is a breeze. Personally, I'd go with the one stop shop Lincoln 350MP , or a Miller 350P for ease of use.

    I'm a Miller CST TECH, think I'd know.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Western Pa.
    Posts
    190

    Default Need expert help A.S.A.P.

    Been running 350-p every day for almost 2 years and hasn't quit yet. Actually haven't put a penny in it. Made me some money. So if it does break down ill just fix it, nutten in this country free anyway. So far I'm way ahead if the game.
    It also pulse welds just pretty fine.
    Good luck Greg

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    2,792

    Thumbs up

    Got my MM350P about 6.5 years ago....

    No Complaints...

    I know several guys with them.... all happy..
    Last edited by H80N; 08-26-2013 at 08:23 PM.
    .

    *******************************************
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know......

    “The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten”

    Buy the best tools you can afford.. Learn to use them to the best of your ability.. and take care of them...

    My Blue Stuff:
    Dynasty 350DX Tigrunner
    Dynasty 200DX
    Millermatic 350P w/25ft Alumapro & 30A
    Millermatic 200

    TONS of Non-Blue Equip, plus Mills, Lathes & a Rat Tail File..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Welding Projects

Special Offers: See the latest Miller deals and promotions.