Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bifocals

Hybrid View

Post Bifocals

Hi I'm new here. Not sure if this exact question has been posted before? I wear progressive bifocal lenses and want to know (as I'm a student to welding) if there is a solution to either using a magnifying lens or something else to aid in close up viewing of the weld. In my personal situation welding at home I've found it difficult to see the weld start point especially using a fixed type shade. Just got an auto darkening helmet and haven't yet tried it out. I've found that I require a lot more light on the weld surface to see to begin. Is that common to those of us who wear bifocal lenses?
    Thanks
    Ron

Better light on the workpiece that doesn't trigger your auto dark is always an improvement. Not seeing where your rod tip is behind a #9+ fixed is not unique to either myopes nor presbyopes, and you will be amazed how the auto darkening hood improves your arc starts looking through a #3.

Personally, I would get my Rx renewed if having trouble with my close vision and consult with the doc before adding more magnification in the helmet.

Have fun with your new helmet.
    Dynasty 350
    Bobcat 250
    Maxstar 150S
    Titanium 9400
    Purox O/A
    Cutmaster 42

Default Bifocals

Yep. Sure do. At 54 Ive lost my up close vision. I ware same type lens and found they can't increase my up close with out affecting long range vision. But I would rather ware them over bifocal glasses for work. I put a 1.00 magnifier in my welding hood, works great can now see weld puddle clear. I'm now up to a 2.00 in my hood all time.