Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums
 
Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    55

    Default Pipepro 350 or 300

    I'm hearing that the Pipepro 300 welds hard wire in Position better than the
    350 Pipepro ?
    What do you guys think !!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    7,844

    Default

    OK, there is NO Pipepro 300, its either a Bigblue 300 pro, or Pro300. There is a Pipepro 304 and 350. Yes the Pipepro 350 is a hybrid inverter, so yes it will weld better than a untuned Pro 300. A tuned "by me" Pro 300 will pretty much outweld a PP350

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Flin Flon & Creighton area
    Posts
    233

    Default What do you do to tune the pro 300?

    Just curious as to what is done to dial this machine in to get better performance?
    I have a welding addiction

    ...the only stupid question is the one you didn't ask

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    7,844

    Default

    you don't have a pro ,,,, do you..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    55

    Default Pipepro 350 or 300

    My Brother-in-law partner welding 20" Schedule 10 SS has a 300 pro where both using Extreme 12 wirefeeds with .035 hard wire and his beads are going in better then the 350 PP ,
    What can I do to fix this Cruizer ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    7,844

    Default

    Drop the high idle (Engine RPM) on the PP350 to no more than 61.5hz. This is a MUST DO!! Wave forms are COMPLETELY out to lunch if you don't. Drop the high idle on the pro300 to 61HZ - 61.3hz

    Measured with a frequency meter (HZ) at the 120 aux terminals. Now I do other stuff, but for the basics, you have to do this first. Massive better difference in weld quality

    Jeff

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    55

    Default Pipepro 350 or 300

    I will give it a try , thanks Cruizer !

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    55

    Default Pipepro 350 or 300

    I don't know much about these Mitsubishi engines , Where is the engine idler located Sir ?
    And adjusting the idler Will that change the characteristics Of the stick welding ?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Marsden, sk. Canada
    Posts
    29

    Default

    cruizer, is that hz with the machine at high idle and no load, where would i find a meter with hz on it?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    21

    Default Pipepro 350 or 300

    I have 2 PipePro 350's right now and have ZERO complaints on there performance. Thinking about adding a third. I am very intrigued about enhancing the performance of them though, how would a guy go about do this on a CAT powered machine?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/footer.inc.php on line 82

Welding Projects

Special Offers: See the latest Miller deals and promotions.