Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums
 
Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: spoolmatic 30a

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    kannapolis,nc
    Posts
    32

    Default spoolmatic 30a

    running my spoolmatic off my bobcat for first time today. ran good off my shop 110 (for wc-115a) but when I try to run the 110 off the bobcat it don't want to weld? feeds ok. doesn't seem to have enough current to weld though. (yes I have my fine tune amps turned up on bobcat) Any ideas? do I just need to turn up my amps?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,149

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kbenz View Post
    running my spoolmatic off my bobcat for first time today. ran good off my shop 110 (for wc-115a) but when I try to run the 110 off the bobcat it don't want to weld? feeds ok. doesn't seem to have enough current to weld though. (yes I have my fine tune amps turned up on bobcat) Any ideas? do I just need to turn up my amps?
    Do you have it set to CV constant voltage mode??

    for MIG you will want CV mode NOT CC mode

    and adjust your VOLTS not your amps...
    .

    *******************************************
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know......

    “The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten”

    Buy the best tools you can afford.. Learn to use them to the best of your ability.. and take care of them...

    My Blue Stuff:
    Dynasty 350DX Tigrunner
    Dynasty 200DX
    Millermatic 350P w/25ft Alumapro & 30A
    Millermatic 200

    TONS of Non-Blue Equip, plus CNC Mill, Lathes & a Plasmacam..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    kannapolis,nc
    Posts
    32

    Default spoolmatic 30a

    Yes I have it switched. Everything works fine when 115 is plugged into my shop. Problem is when I plug the 115 into the bobcat

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,149

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by kbenz View Post
    Yes I have it switched. Everything works fine when 115 is plugged into my shop. Problem is when I plug the 115 into the bobcat
    Could you post the serial number of your Bobcat 225G so we could consult the correct version manual... ??

    so we can make sure there are no switches in the wrong position..

    lots of times it is just a simple switchology mixup..
    .

    *******************************************
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know......

    “The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten”

    Buy the best tools you can afford.. Learn to use them to the best of your ability.. and take care of them...

    My Blue Stuff:
    Dynasty 350DX Tigrunner
    Dynasty 200DX
    Millermatic 350P w/25ft Alumapro & 30A
    Millermatic 200

    TONS of Non-Blue Equip, plus CNC Mill, Lathes & a Plasmacam..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    kannapolis,nc
    Posts
    32

    Default spoolmatic 30a

    Kk117340

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,149

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kbenz View Post
    Yes I have it switched. Everything works fine when 115 is plugged into my shop. Problem is when I plug the 115 into the bobcat
    Is the Engine set to "RUN".... so it runs full speed??

    NOT to "Run/Idle" where it will idle down

    and that CB3 & CB4 are not tripped

    See page #19 Fig 6-1

    http://www.millerwelds.com/om/o405e_mil.pdf

    Last edited by H80N; 07-08-2013 at 12:43 PM.
    .

    *******************************************
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know......

    “The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten”

    Buy the best tools you can afford.. Learn to use them to the best of your ability.. and take care of them...

    My Blue Stuff:
    Dynasty 350DX Tigrunner
    Dynasty 200DX
    Millermatic 350P w/25ft Alumapro & 30A
    Millermatic 200

    TONS of Non-Blue Equip, plus CNC Mill, Lathes & a Plasmacam..

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    kannapolis,nc
    Posts
    32

    Default

    yes, it is set to run. I will download and check that out. thank you

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,149

    Default

    You might also check 9-2. Auxiliary Power Troubleshooting Pg #33


    No output at auxiliary power

    Reset circuit breakers (see Section 6-1 or 6-2).
    receptacles.
    Press optional GFCI receptacle Reset button (see Section 6-2).
    Check fuse F1 and replace if open (see Section 7-4 or 8-6).
    Check plug PLG6 connection
    .

    *******************************************
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know......

    “The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten”

    Buy the best tools you can afford.. Learn to use them to the best of your ability.. and take care of them...

    My Blue Stuff:
    Dynasty 350DX Tigrunner
    Dynasty 200DX
    Millermatic 350P w/25ft Alumapro & 30A
    Millermatic 200

    TONS of Non-Blue Equip, plus CNC Mill, Lathes & a Plasmacam..

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    kannapolis,nc
    Posts
    32

    Default crap........

    Finally got back to it. I must have had something set wrong before. It ran great for a couple beads off the bobcat. Then the rpms dropped for a split second and everything went to crap. looked over and seen smoke(wc-115a). unplugged, shut it all down. pulled the cover off the wc-115a and the ground wire coming in is burnt. what ya think?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    kannapolis,nc
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Rewired the 115v . Plugged it into my shop power. Ran fine. Cord never even got warm. Got a friend comin over tomorrow to check outputs on bobcat

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/footer.inc.php on line 82

Welding Projects

Special Offers: See the latest Miller deals and promotions.