Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Default Truck Welding Table

Hi, First off I'd like to say I'm new to this fourm, and I think its great. I'm a welder/fitter with about 20 years exp. I'm in the process of building a new welding rig. I just purchased a new trailblazer 302. I want to set up this in the back of my 2003 GMC 2500HD Duramax long box. I've already built a skid for the welder and cables, now I need a plan for a box mounted folding table. Any ideas or pics would be greatly appreciated.
    Always Have Fun.

I made one that slips into the reciever on the truck and sits a little higher than the tailgate when it's open to keep from beating the tailgate. Took about an hour. I used 1 1/2 tubing to frame a 1/4" table top then connected it the hitch with 2 x 2 x 1/4 sq tube. Threw in 1/4" gussets everywhere I could. **** thing will hold more than the truck now! I sure do like using it. It's good as long as you don't plan on towing with it while going to the job.

I have a Chevy ex cab with a short bed. I love that Duramax!

Mike
    MD Welding & Fabricating L.L.C.

MD,

how bout posting some pictures of your table ...please
    would like to see it

Here is a pic. It's not installed but you can see how it looks and works. I never did get to paint it up yet.

Mike
    Attached Images Attached Images

Mike, I like that table. What do you do with it when driving? I might have been tempted to fab up some sort of locking hinge to lock it in the up position while driving. Wouldn't have to flag it while on the road that way.........Dang, the more I think about it...that is a really good idea. I would definitely have to add an unbrella holder to the side. Kinda hot here at the moment.
    Don

'06 Trailblazer 302
    '06 12RC feeder
    Super S-32P feeder

HH210 & DP3035 spool gun
    Esab Multimaster 260