Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums
 
Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Results 1 to 10 of 13

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Southeast N.M.
    Posts
    8

    Default Trailblazer 302D low AC voltage

    Hi folks, I've got a problem with my TB and was hoping the "collective" could help. I've been following the forum for a while (just never joined) so I scoured several older posts but nothing that matched my situation exactly. Anyhow, about two weeks ago I noticed the 120v outlet seemed a bit weak so I went through the usual routine. Fuel filters, air filter, oil, check and adjust run/idle speed (3750 no load) . No change. Ordered and installed new brushes and cleaned slip rings. No change. Checked wiring and connections. Found a broken spade connector on a (physically) large 200 ohm resistor, located above the fuel tank and beside the PC1 board. Replaced the spade connector and checked resistance (out of circuit), 200 ohms. No noticeable change. Btw, my meter showed 110v and 220v at the outlets. I was unable to check the freq because my meter is very basic. I went ahead and ordered a good fluke and had it shipped 2 day priority..... a week ago. (yup, that's my luck). So it should be here between Monday and August. It still welds strong on DC, but feels weak when welding on AC. I fear that a new PC1 board will have to be ordered, but it seems that I read a post here some time back about needing to replace other components at the same time as the board. A rectifier of sorts if memory serves me correctly ( and it usually doesn't, haha). Anyhow, advice on the matter would be greatly appreciated. My machine is a 2006 Trailblazer 302D ser# LG054799 with almost 3000 hrs. Thanks again, T.J.
    Last edited by tjwelds; 04-01-2013 at 06:41 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    226

    Default

    Man I hope the can get you fixed up without the board sounds like a nice machine can a company like flightsystems check these boards I hear they do a good job for a good price

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Southeast N.M.
    Posts
    8

    Default

    So i got my new Fluke in today and here's what I found. 115v and 62.8Hz @3750rpm/no load. Also, I plugged in my plasma cutter (spectrum 625) and watched at the plug under a load and the volts dropped quickly to about 160 when the plasma faulted. Any ideas? And I have run that plasma cutter off of my machine before and that never happened so it is unusual. Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Southeast N.M.
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kpack View Post
    Man I hope the can get you fixed up without the board sounds like a nice machine can a company like flightsystems check these boards I hear they do a good job for a good price
    Thanks Kpack, me too. It's a great machine and I really enjoy it. If I can't get it figured out then I will look into someone like them. Thanks again.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    226

    Default

    I don't know much about them but does the unit have brushes and slip rings I know my old stuff does might check the length of the brushes

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Southeast N.M.
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Yup, I cleaned the rings and replaced the brushes. That was one of my first steps.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    201

    Default Generator testing

    When I am checking out generators, I like to apply different loads, then listen, watch and measure what happens. There is a nifty box called a kill-a-watt for 110V, will measure voltage, amperage, Volt-amp, wattage, total wattage, frequency, and maybe one or two other things.

    Electric space heaters and construction lights are simple resistor loads. Motors involve surge current at start up, so a very different load. But it is not trivial to measure the surge current. I have to think that a plasma cutter is also a complex load.

    It is good to take baseline measurements and write down the result. Then you can check the result later and see if whatever you did improved things or made it worse.

    Good luck,
    Richard

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/footer.inc.php on line 82

Welding Projects

Special Offers: See the latest Miller deals and promotions.