Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Default Where or how did you learn to weld?

Being fairly new at this, I was wondering how you learned to weld? School, apprenticeship, self taught? Also, at what age did you learn? I've been watching as many youtube videos and reading as much as I can and then practicing to try to teach myself. Just thought it'd be interesting to see how other did it...

On the farm and business at age 9-10. My dad was blind in one eye and didn't want to risk his other eye in the off chance he might get hit with hot slag. Years later in Ag Shop classes, heavy construction and as a hobby once I got away from the trades. Keep practicing, you'll get better.
    Miller 251...sold the spoolgun to DiverBill.
    Miller DialArc 250
    Lincoln PrecisionTig 275
    Hypertherm 900 plasma cutter
    Bridgeport "J" head mill...tooled up
    Jet 14 X 40 lathe...ditto
    South Bend 9" lathe...yeah, got the change gears too
    Logan 7" shaper
    Ellis 3000 band saw
    Hossfeld bender w/shopbuilt hyd.
    Victor Journeyman torch and gauges
    3 Gerstner boxes of mostly Starrett tools
    Lots of dust bunnies
    Too small of a shop at 40 X 59.

That's interesting. I've found that so far, I like it so much that I can get lost in the garage for hours and not realize it. I suppose part of that is because I DON'T HAVE TO DO IT. I do it because I WANT to...

turbo38t Guest