Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Hybrid View

Default advice on welding side business?

Any fellow welder s have advice for a young guy trying to make money and establish a good reputation locally welding? I work as a sheet metal tig welder, attend welding school and have done 1 or 2 mig side jobs. (Round railing).trying to go on my own part time while still working, Having trouble getting the word out, pricing, talking to potential customers, and deciding on equipment/rig. ( truck VS. my SUV &trailer combo) Thanks a bunch guys!

First is to see what kind of work is available & then get equipment to match. You don't want to gear up for something & then find out your equipment doesn't go with the work. Do you want to go mobile only or work out of your place?
    MM250
    Trailblazer 250g
    22a feeder
    Lincoln ac/dc 225
    Victor O/A
    MM200 black face
    Whitney 30 ton hydraulic punch
    Lown 1/8x 36" power roller
    Arco roto-phase model M
    Vectrax 7x12 band saw
    Miller spectrum 875
    30a spoolgun w/wc-24
    Syncrowave 250
    RCCS-14

I'm kind of in your shoe's.

Truck or trailer? I would think truck (SUV) and equipment to start. That is the route I am taking. Almost picked up a trailer but found a slide for my Bronco pretty cheep yesterday. So I'll get a Mig next then if things go ok I might get a trailer.

The toughest part is having another job. Sometimes people need something done and I haven't got the time. So I keep a couple other shops numbers and refer them. Bad for me but the jobs I do get helps keep the word out.

Securing your equipment when your not around will be important. Would you keep it in a trailer, truck or building? Loading and unloading is the pits but safer for me.