Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Default What Running Bead Practice Looks Like

ChuckE2009 just posted a video called: StickWeld 250 Torture Test + Full Review - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g-ssv_K8ZL4.

If you start viewing at 13 minutes and then the rest of the video you'll see what running bead practice looks like.

I'm a noob at this too and I thought I was doing good at practice time but I'm still working my way through a 10lb box of 1/8 7018. I've been burning other electrodes and wire too so I might have burned through this box by now if not for that. Not sure I could do a whole box in one sitting. :-) Going to have to look at adding machines with higher duty cycles to my collection I guess.
    ==============
    Miller 211 MVP
    Hobart StickMate LX 235
    Lincoln AC 225
    CutMaster 42

I'll go watch the video to see what your talkinga bout in a little bit..

When I first got my cst280 I hooked it up to 1ph 230v power. That meant my max output was 200amps @50%dc and 150 amps @100% duty cycle. I burned through 5# of 6011 and 7018. Didn't even the get fan to turn on! The other day I was DC TIG welding with it and was about 80% through a project with about 9 feet of TIGing. The fan turned on for about 10 seconds! I was glad to hear it. That meant that it actually works. Up until this point I wasn't sure! I was thinking about selling it to help towards an ac/dc tig machine but stuff in the 200amp inverter class just doesn't have the duty cycle that this thing does. So for now I'm keeping it for straight stick welding.
    MillerMatic 251
    Maxstar 150 STH
    Cutmaster 42
    Victor Journeyman OA

A rockcrawler, er money pit, in progress...

Quote Originally Posted by elvis View Post