Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Default where are the good jobs

Where are the good welding jobs?? I got my diploma and that includes all positions and all processes. I even have a little aluminum and stainless steel experience. I have a job I like but I'm tired of standing in one spot all day doing little welds. I need a challenge. I want to weld on giant beams hanging in the air. I want the best challenging job I can find as a welder. Someone tell me the name of a company that does the good stuff.

give it about 20 years and you will wish you had that job back. I think there is a company here in FL called florida welding or steel fabricators. Lots of work and good beaches.

The biggest problem I have seen in the last few years is there's plenty of jobs out there, finding one that actually pays something that you can survive on is the biggest problem. Most places are still stuck in 1985 as far as pay goes. Get as many certs as you can, work on getting the 6g cert.

I'm looking for the big money is all. I figured its on a construction site building skyscrapers and all.

Quote Originally Posted by scottdavis229@yahoo.com View Post
    I'm looking for the big money is all. I figured its on a construction site building skyscrapers and all.
    Can you Pass X-Ray?

I'm on a shut down at Plant Bowen in north west GA, It's a union job out of United Association 72, Atlanta, GA. Best welding school in the south and top 5 ranked in the country. Lots of great challenging work and pretty good money for coming in with no experience, GREAT benefits. We also have a 18 week program for vets too, don't know details but its a good start.