Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: new welder

Hybrid View

Default new welder

What welder should I buy? I'm new to welding still learning along with my diesel experience looking for a mig welder good for entry level that won't break the bank

Do a search for the welders in your price range. This topic has been covered many times.

ThermalArc 181i.

Mig, stick, and dc tig in one easy to use package. It is made in asia, but has a solid.warranty.

Thermal's 252I is made in USA, but is pricy. Both are inverters which is a must in my book.
    Nothing welded, Nothing gained

Miller Dynasty700DX
    3 ea. Miller Dynasty350DX
    Miller Dynasty200DX
    ThermalArc 400 GTSW
    MillerMatic350P
    MillerMatic200 with spoolgun
    MKCobraMig260
    Lincoln SP-170T
    Linde UCC305 (sold 2011)
    Hypertherm 1250
    Hypertherm 800
    PlasmaCam CNC cutter
    Fadal Toolroom CNC Mill
    SiberHegner CNC Mill
    2 ea. Bridgeport
    LeBlond 15" Lathe
    Haberle 18" Cold Saw
    Doringer 14" Cold Saw
    6 foot x 12 foot Mojave granite

Default New here but I have been in the biz for 30 years

Do not have any patience for 120V mig welders.
    As they just do not have the power to weld anything of thickness.
    Using flux core helps.

Sorry in advance. Yes I know people build things using them all the time.
    It’s just not for me.

I am spoiled with good equipment. And hate not using a tool.
    That is not more than capable of performing a task.

No interest in a tool that is built to a price point.

I have had great luck with used Miller equipment.
    Have used the red painted stuff & it good as well. But blue is for me Thanks.
    I personally stay away from equipment I can’t get parts for (offshore).

And a new welding machine is like money in the bank.
    I have never lost money on a welder. When selling it years later.