Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums
 
Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sublimity, Oregon
    Posts
    18

    Default Miller Shopmaster 300 single phase = 220?

    Dumb question I know, but have a chance to buy a shopmaster in good condition that buyer says is set up for single phase, can I not run that on the 220 power in my workshop? he is getting rid of it becase he does not have 440 power. I don't understand, please help

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    7,239

    Default

    Got a serial# for me??

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sublimity, Oregon
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cruizer View Post
    Got a serial# for me??
    KG144544 Stock 903126

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    371

    Default

    Ask for the serial number it will let you know how old it is and get the proper owners manual for it from the resources link here. The manual will tell you the correct voltage information. Looks like the current version is single phase only 208/230/460/575 volts drawing 66/57/29/23 amps at the rated output. If the one that is for sale is the same and your wiring in your garage is decent it shouldn't be a problem to run it in your garage.
    Meltedmetal

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    371

    Default

    Or just ask Cruizer who posted while I was looking stuff up via dial-up. Haha-Meltedmetal

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    7,239

    Default

    Won't tell you specifics, like what the input votage is though, that I can tell you.

    Dial up?? , didn't that go out with the dinosaurs.....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    371

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cruizer View Post
    Won't tell you specifics, like what the input votage is though, that I can tell you.

    Dial up?? , didn't that go out with the dinosaurs.....
    I am a dinosaur and a cheap one at that but I'll probably have to bite the bullet in the new year or my wife is gonna leave me for someone with high speed. I am in the land that time forgot here and high speed has only been available here at affordable prices for a few years now.
    Meltedmetal

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    371

    Default

    Or just ask Cruizer who posted while I was looking stuff up via dial-up. Haha- Your still gonna want a serial number though.
    Meltedmetal

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    7,239

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wickerdave View Post
    Dumb question I know, but have a chance to buy a shopmaster in good condition that buyer says is set up for single phase, can I not run that on the 220 power in my workshop? he is getting rid of it becase he does not have 440 power. I don't understand, please help
    Maybe the guy only has 575 power, but that machine is capable of 200/230/460 single phase and was born on 5/21/96

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    16919 Pole Rd. Brethren, MI 49619
    Posts
    4,364

    Default

    Another thing to consider, this is a machine that should have 100A service.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Welding Projects

Special Offers: See the latest Miller deals and promotions.