Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Hybrid View

Default Looking to buy a welder and learn how to weld

Hello,

I have been wanting to learn to weld for a pretty long time now and for one reason or another I never did.

I have a few questions. I would someday like to be able to build a 6x10 utility trailer, but am no where expienced to do that now. So I guess my first question is, what would be a good welder to start with that would allow me to one day build a utility trailer?

I am a carpenter by trade, with light electrical and plumbing experience, mainly installing kitchens and bathrooms. I do mostly finish carpentry now.

I would really like to learn to weld, but i dont want to buy just a junko welder. I would like something I could kinda grow into but not over doing it. I have put some money aside to buy some equiptment for this. I have read some books, and watched countless how to videos.

I have so many questions, and would really like to start asap.

Should I start with a mig welder or just maybe an ac/dc stick welder?
    Should I look for a used welder as compared to a new one?

Only thing about a used one, is since I dont know to much about it I would hate to buy junk. I do want to stay with a miller, or name brand.

If someone would teach me I would even work for them for free just to gain the experience.

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
    Last edited by pmac; 12-11-2012 at 03:58 PM.

I would look at the Hobart Stickmate AC/DC welder, or the Miller Thunderbolt . Mig is supposed to be easier to learn, but IMO, it's harder to do right. I would rather see you running stick for a large trailer.

http://www.hobartwelders.com/product...lx235ac-160dc/

http://www.millerwelds.com/products/...p?model=M16100