Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Default contaminated argon ?

guys,

in the past i have come across a bad, contaminated bottle of 75/25 argon/helium while tig welding aluminum. i would swap the bottle out and everything would be fine.

the past few days i have been having intermittent problems with the cylinder i am currently using. i could weld for a few hours with no problems, then all of a sudden i begin to have problems, like erratic arc, my tungsten turning blue/black after the post flow has stopped, etc, sometimes lasting for 30 minutes..
    i do not have any fans pointed in my area, and am far away from the open garage door and have curtains on each side of me, so i know its not any wind blowing away my shielding gas. i have been welding in this booth for 4 years.
    then within time it will start to weld good again...

so my question is, if its a contaminated bottle of gas, is it possible to get good and bad spots within the cylinder, or once a tank is contaminated will it be all mixed with no good areas ? this is the first time i have had a bottle that acted good at times, then bad at other times..

just curious.... its driving me crazy....

thanks
    Syncrowave® 200
    Lincoln AC/DC 225/125
    Lincoln Weld Pak 100 wire feed

Do you have a leak in the hose or torch area?

Ji
    Grip it and Rip it

Default Not properly mixed

Your gas was not properly mixed by your supplier!

Quote Originally Posted by Jigantor View Post
    Do you have a leak in the hose or torch area?

Ji
    thanks.... i do not believe so....
    how can i check for a leak ? can i hit the pedal, put my finger over the cup, to seal, and see if the flow ball drops to the bottom ?
    Syncrowave® 200
    Lincoln AC/DC 225/125

Check from bottle to torch first with soapy water.
    See if any bubbles.

Ji