Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Hybrid View

Smile Help Troubleshooting a Miller Maxstar200SD

Hello All,
    My name is Brian and I am a newbie here. I am a Master Electrician by trade and I love welding as a hobby. If anyone has any questions on electrical to feed a welding machine, feel free to contact me. I work on High Voltage down to electronics daily. I know these machines have alot of stored energy and my Fluke 87V and test leads are rated up to 1000vdc. I recently bought a Miller Maxstar200SD off an auction and I need some help. It needs a circuit board. I would like some help ensuring it only needs one board so I dont sink in too much money when I could have bought a new one. I greatly appreciate the help from anyone up to the challenge. I am guessing it needs a PC1 inverter board based on my findings below. I found out they have a revised PC1 inverter board/ part # for my machine. I dont want to stick a new PC1 board in the machine and smoke a new board. I found some troubleshooting questions on a Miller Maxstar 200stx but I am sure someone has more specific points I can test on the machine for a SD. Again, I appreciate any information from the experts on this site and I apologize for the long post.

Thank You,
    Brian Gibbons

My Miller Maxstar 200SD general info.
    Manuf. date 2004
    owners manual (electrical block diagram)
    http://www.millerwelds.com/service/l...erial=le374331
    currently wired for 120v 60hz for troubleshooting(once fixed it will be set up 240vac 60hz.)

My Test Equip. used:
    FLUKE 87V

Symptoms: