Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Stick Welding C purlin and 14 gauge tubing

I work as a Mig welder welding bumpers up all day. I have lots of tig welding experience from my previous job. Everything I know about stick welding though is what I've taught myself and learned off the internet. I've recently purchased a Hobart 250 generator welder and got a deal I could'nt refuse on a Maxstar 150. Here recently I've gotten a few small side jobs doing carports and patios and such. Most of them i've built has been with 14 gauge 2x4 rectangular tubing, 14 ga 4x4 tube, and 4" C purlin for runners. The problem I have is when I'm attaching the 2x4 to the 4x4 poles on the sides, today I done it with 3/32 6011's running downhill with my maxstar on 60 amps, I keep getting too hot and burning through the tube, I have to stop and go a lot to get it all filled in. I've also tried it with 1/8" 6011's at 90 amps and 3/32 7018s going uphill at about 90 amps. I'm good with my angles and always get my gaps tight. I just want to know what the best way to stick weld this thin stuff is. I've never had nothing fail just wish I could make it look better. Any thoughts and opinions is very appreciated thanks

I use the 1/8 6011 at 85 or so. The trick is to really understand how the electrode operates, it may take a lesson. Smaller rods are too fussy as to arc length and on occasion you can run the 7018 downhill on thin material.Here is an exaggerated version with the 11, notice the different spacing of the whips, long whip and tight arc on the pause.

This is far from a perfect pic, just the principle, you can see how far apart the strokes are at the top, can do this downhill also. Maybe some has better examples.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Sberry; 09-03-2012 at 07:44 PM.