Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Default How to weld cast iron

I have to weld some 1" cast iron plates together and I have never welded cast iron before. I've heard you to heat it before and after you weld it to prevent cracking but I do not know much else about welding cast iron. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Quote Originally Posted by foreverAstudent View Post
    I have to weld some 1" cast iron plates together and I have never welded cast iron before. I've heard you to heat it before and after you weld it to prevent cracking but I do not know much else about welding cast iron. Any help is greatly appreciated.
    I am no expert on welding Cast iron so hopefully our forum guys will jump in on this, But I have done a lot of it over the years so here is a little of what I know. Preheat is always good with cast Iron. Don't use Mig (GMAW). Use Stick (SMAW) process or Oxy Acetylene (OAW) if stick is not available. Use a rod that is designed for Cast iron like Ni-Rod or some other nickel based alloy. Any other rod could make the joint crack due to rigidity. Welding process usually causes metal to shrink and Cast Iron does not like to shrink when welded. Poor quality cast usually does not take to welding too good. I was also taught that if you have to form the edge's, make them "u" grooves and not "v's".