Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums
 
Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default Miller CP 200 3 phase to single phase help??

    Hello everyone,

    I am new to this site and need some help. I bought a used Miller CP 200 welder, Serial # JE795169, has Millermatic S-52e wire feed set up to run 3 phase. I do not have 3 phase in my pole barn, I DO have 220 hook up. I was checking on transformer and was expensive . I have heard that I can rewire this 3 phase into single phase to run on my standard 220 set up.. Can anyone help with this, or send me to site that would explain how to rewire ?? I do not have a manual for this machine, Inside of side cover has electrical diagrams ( 2 ) but I do not know how to go by these to rewire unit.. Any help would be appreciate......Thanks - Bill W.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Clark County, NV
    Posts
    2,696

    Default

    You cannot rewire this unit to single-phase. I own one also. It's in storage until I have 3-phase power again.

    It is not recommended to run this unit with a phase converter either, though I have heard reports of some doing it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default 3 phase power

    Hello, Thank you for your input. I just had 100 amp power hooked up to my pole barn, What what I have heard, if I want 3 phase power I would have to have another power line run to my barn ??? from the power Co. is that correct ?? thanks again, Bill

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Clark County, NV
    Posts
    2,696

    Default

    Yes, it will require 3 wires (plus the neutral), at least one of which will have to come all the way from the nearest pole that has 3-phase available. It will also require that they replace your transformer with a 3-phase. Everything involved is usually expensive, and sometimes they just say no.
    Last edited by MAC702; 06-30-2006 at 01:04 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    8

    Post

    I know this thread is really old, but thought I'd toss in a little update...


    Quote Originally Posted by MAC702 View Post
    You cannot rewire this unit to single-phase.

    It CAN be run, with full output and excellent results, off of single-phase. It takes a LITTLE MORE than rewiring, but not a difficult job. Here's how:

    http://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb...-phase-199832/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Four Flags city
    Posts
    304

    Default

    Hey Dave good to see you on the clean side of town.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/footer.inc.php on line 82

Welding Projects

Special Offers: See the latest Miller deals and promotions.