Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Welding on a diesel alum slip tank?? help?

I'm a red seal journeyman welder, but have never run into this before. A buddy wants a crack welded on his aluminum diesel slip tank, the crack is on the top, so when the tank moves around it leaks diesel, I was thinking fill the slip tank up almost all the way with diesel and then purge the rest with argon before I tig it up? I know diesel is not as explosive as reg gas, but a few little tips and tricks might go a long way here. Thanks

I wouldn't take the chance with it full of diesel not to mention the contamination hat could occur. It is discussed here: http://www.thecombineforum.com/forum...el-tank-2.html