Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Miller Elite helmet issues

Ok guys im not a big welder by trade but I do need to burn rod from time to tim and until today my miller elite helmet has been nothing but great. I went to weld up some CroMo 4130 tubing today and the issue of my helmet flickering from shade 8-9 and occasionally going back to the grinding shade and going back to the darkened shade but it wont stay consistent and ive run through everything i can think of I switched out the batteries with miller ones from the LWS ive put it out in the sun for a while to charge it ive cleaned the sensors and changed the plastic lens and so far no change in how it acts so im looking to you guys the experts is there something im missing or is it a warranty issue i bought it just over a year ago???
    Leblond Makino mills
    HAAS CNC SL-40 lathe
    American Pacemaker lathe
    wells index mill
    hydrotel rebuilt
    syncrowave 250
    diversion 165
    Miller Elite Vintage USA

Default Miller Elite helmet issues

Have you tried the sensitivity adjustment?
    Kevin

May not be the answer you want to hear - Throw it as far as you can and buy a new helmet , just not a Miller. I went thru the same thing twice and to get them fixed cost more than a new hood. Local Airgas dealer said it is a common problem and not worth fixing for the cost. They are good hoods as long as they work .

My Miller Pro Hobby did about the same thing on Saturday. I thought the batteries were dead, changed them out, still it just kind of flickers a little. Mostly just dark.

Is there any kind of reset or something?

I hate to have to go buy a new helmet.
    Burt
    Miller Thunderbolt XL
    http://www.10FtDrillBit.com

Quote Originally Posted by Swamp rat View Post