Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Very Small Welds Advice

Hi,

I need to weld a new tab onto a small steel part where the original one broke off. The piece is about 1.5 in square and is about .025" thick. There are 4 tabs that stick up vertically off each side of the square. Tabs are about 3/16" wide by 3/8" tall, also about .025" thick. The piece was originally stamped out, and then the tabs were bent up vertically. I cut a new tab, and the plan is to weld it on.

So I'm going to TIG it. I tried some experiments on similar thickness stuff, and melted the crap out of it. Any tips on how to approach this? I'm really doing it for the challenge and the learning. How much current should I be using? My machine goes down to 5 amps. Tungsten size? How about .040", Ceriated?

Thanks.

Hi ParisDakar,

I am not an expert at this but I often come across small things which I want to TIG. (If they were large I would burn some flux core in my wire welder :-)

I have found the trick to these sort of welds to be a good HEAT SINK. My approach to the weld you describe would be to get a piece of copper (aluminum will do but copper is better) which I could clamp against the tab side of square piece. I would make sure I had a nice square corner on the edge of the copper where the new tab is to be welded. This will allow the copper to align the tab to the base at a 90 degree angle as well as to remove excess heat. I would also cut the new tab a little long so that it could extend beyond the base. That would allow a simple fusion weld to make the joint. No filler needed.

As to the tungsten... .040 with a sharp point is probably fine. If you were manufacturing these parts a .020 tungsten might be worthwhile. For a single weld - use what you got! If you have an inverter power source Ceriated or Lanthanated should be fine.