Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Default Need help with wiring my new MIG

Hello all,

Long time reader, first time poster.

I have a dilemma (I'm a beginner). I just bought a just about brand new Miller Challenger 172 250 Volt 50 amp MIG for use in my 68 Mustang project.

The welder comes with the plug that looks like this:

This is a NEMA 6-50P. My garage is wired with just a regular 120V household outlet.

The problem I have is that I live on Army housing (Stationed at Fort Lewis, WA) and the housing authority told me I could not get the garage rewired for 250V or at least they won't have anything to do with it.

An alternative that my father in law said was to just use an extension cord to the dryer outlet. It's about 10 feet away from the garage but the plug for the dryer is this:

This is a NEMA 10-30R outlet.

I looked at the breaker box and the breaker for the dryer has two 30AMP breakers attached together to make it one unit.

Would it be advisable to just make an extension cord with a NEMA 6-50P at one end for the welder and a NEMA 10-30R to plug into the dryer outlet?

Do the two 30AMP breakers that act as one switch mean it's actually 60AMPS?

If I did do the extension cord, how big of wire should I use?

Any help would be greatly appreciated by anybody. I have no experience with anything relating to electricity as I am just an Infantryman in the Army and the most I do with electricity is replace batteries in my weapon sights.

Darren

Exclamation

No the double pole 30 amp breaker is only good for 30 amps NOT 60... So as I see it you have two options replace the 30 with a 50 amp breaker and make your extension cord or even better if you can put in a new breaker and outlet if their is room in the breaker box... Or better yet get a 110 volt welder, if this machine is for body work a 110 volt will do just fine. Hope this helps