Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Hybrid View

Default Help with welding wire size

I have a Millermatic 172, running Argon/co2 mix (75/25 I believe). I will be welding all 3/16 material on my next project (utility trailer). I currently have (.30) wire in the welder. For this project would I be better served to use (.35) wire. I have seen some charts and they seem to recommend this size wire for this thickness steel. Looking at the chart on the inside of the welder, it indicates that I drop to a 3 for voltage and 55 for wire speed (4/70) if I were to use the (.30) wire). Why the significant drop in voltage and would I be assured of better penetration if I increased it to 4? As an amateur, I am nervous about the strength of the welds. The steel I will be using is new with mill scale on it, which I will grind off.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Cool

I would stick with the .030. thats my everything size wire in my MM185...Bob
    Bob Wright, Grandson of Tee Nee Boat Trailer Founder
    Metal Master Fab Salem, Oh 44460
    Birthplace of the Silver & Deming Drill
    1999 MM185 w/185 Spoolgun,1986 Thunderbolt AC/DC
    Spool Gun conversion. How To Do It. Below.
    http://www.millerwelds.com/resources...php?albumid=48

Too many variables to be welding right out of the book. Travel speed, the deposition needed and the penetration for strength can not be right from the book. Best bet is to test with a small piece and then test the weld strength on your own. I would guess .030 for this light metal.

Default Harley 55