Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Building a 6x12 utility trailer

I have quite a few projects under my belt and feel pretty good about my welds, so I decided to build a 6x12 trailer.

I have never built a trailer before, don't really know what all I need as far as materials, etc. but I was thinking that I could build one for less than $1,200, which is what they are selling for around here.

If anyone has any plans, that would be great. Any information will be helpful.
    Miller 180

>>>---Mat---->

Default Utility Trailer

4" channel with 2x2 3/16 angle for crossmembers. The angle will sit inside the C and have the exact space for lumber inside the box.

Are you saying make the outside frame out of the channel and the rest from angle?
    Miller 180

>>>---Mat---->

Default Utility Trailer

Channel and angle iron is the cheapest material, That is why most trailers are built with it. Strong and easy to work with. Tubing is nice but almost double the cost of material. What GVW do you want?

I am not for sure. It will be a single axle, so nothing real stout. I am mainly using it to haul a couple quads, but would like it a little heavier than the cheap ones you can buy at lowes or tractor supply.

Would a 2000 lb axle be enough or should I go with a 3500 lb?
    Miller 180

>>>---Mat---->