Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: New Member

Hybrid View

Cool New Member

Just thought I would check in and say Hi and introduce myself. I have been reading this forum for a few months and decided this morning to join. There have been a few posts I wanted to comment on so I signed up. I am new to this forum but not to welding. I started learning in 1988(OTJ type) and still learning, like most folks are likely to do. There were things related to my job that required welding from time to time, I was working as an equipment mechanic. Things break at times and need to be made unbroke to get them working again, welding was usually faster and cheaper than buying new, as alot of our equipment would require special ordering and long lead times to get what was needed, and it needed to be back online ASAP. I learned some on my own and some from our more experienced welders.
    Anyways, I bought my first machine(Bobcat 225G) and O/A torch in 2001, still have'm. I added a MM140 with 3035 spoolgun in 2007 to do aluminum work on boats. I also use it with FC wire, as most of my work is outside.
    I have built a rack for my truck(one of the first things I built with my Bobcat) to haul my steel on, as it's way easier than pulling a trailer around town. I've made A-frames for hoisting, doors for my shop, smoker grills, my welding trailer and a yard trailer to pull with lawn mower, a set of steps to get in the house, along with many other smaller things. A bigger set of steps are planned to access the front porch, gathering money for the materials for that job.