Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default What can a bachelor's degree do for a welder?

I'm an aspiring welder who will have an associate's degree within a year. Should I go the extra mile and get a bachelor's degree along with this?

Talking to my instructors, I found that welders with bachelor's degrees have two extra jobs open to them: full-time community college welding instructors and welding engineers. I talked to one of my instructors yesterday and he told me that an associate's degree will open up many doors and a bachelor's degree is unnecessary for welders.

I was told that it didn't matter what type of bachelor's degree you have, so I was deciding to aim for an English degree not only because I enjoy writing, but the thought of studying English always nagged me since my first semester of college. I would rather focus on my welding career, however, than spend extra time and money to get a useless bachelor's degree. I feel like becoming a CWI would more than make up for any bachelor's degree.

I've asked the same question on another forum (see bottom) and the consensus is that I should get an engineering degree. I told the people that despite my skill towards math and science, I would hate to study engineering material for the next five years as well as go through the math, physics, and chemistry classes along with it. I'm torn between studying my passion and risking obtaining a useless degree, and getting a degree and forcing myself to study a subject that I have no interest in.

So to those who are working in the welding industry: what can a bachelor's degree do for a welder?

I have started the same thread here: http://weldingweb.com/showthread.php?t=47113