Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Bunk Bed Ideas

Hybrid View

Default Bunk Bed Ideas

My wife is looking for some low L shaped bunk beds for our daughters room. I was looking on line for different designs and was originally thinking a wood working project. Now I am thinking a combination wood/metal project. I'm trolling for some ideas (I'm not the most creative). What material would you use? My girls are 4 and 6 and are of course into girly stuff (barbies, etc). If I come up with something cool, I also have 2 boys in a room who could use bunk beds as well. I was thinking about some sort of metal frame that would be smaller than a typical wood structure as they have small rooms. I am a hobby welder with a nice mig and access to tig. Any thoughts or ideas out there?

That could be fun.

The first thing I would do is get the measurements of the mattresses you're planning on using. That would give you what you have to have to make it work for more than just one set of kiddos.

The next thing I would do is to set down with your wife and lay out some parameters that she wants and or needs.

I know. Most guys don't want to have that conversation but take it from me. Believe it or not women are on the average smarter than guys when it comes to designing things that are practical. I can't explain it except for our hammer reflex I guess.

The other thing is if she buys into it then chances are you won't be asked to build another one, right this time, anytime soon.

I like the idea of using sixteen gauge galvanized fence tube for the frame work if you can find a muffler shop close by that has dies for 1 5/8". It's substantial enough in size and appearance, easily welded if you're careful, ventilate, ventilate. And it can take a powder coat that will outlast mild steel by years.