Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Kubota8540

Hybrid View

Default Kubota8540

Good afternoon all,

I'm pleased to become a participant (and newest member) in this forum. I'm not an expert welder but am gaining experience and really enjoy the time I spend working on projects. I have two MIG welders, one "stick" welder, an oxy/acetylene welder and a "plastic welder.

I've retired from the phone company after more than 30 years. I have a degree in Civil Engineering and do all my own work on our vehicles, house, tractors, fences and what'all.

I look forward to reading, learning and maybe even one day, helping someone in return for all I hope to be gaining from this group.

Regards,
    Kubota8540

tell me (us) about your plastic welder Kubota. I have a m/c fairing in need of some lovin and ive been thinking about adding a setup to the shop. Never hurts to increase your ability base.

Thanks in advance and welcome aboard!
    Will it weld? I loooove electricity!

Miller 251/30A spool
    Syncro200
    Spectrum 625
    O/A
    Precix 5x10 CNC Router12"Z
    Standard modern lathe
    Cheap Chinese mill that does the trick... sort of...
    horizontal 7x12 bandsaw
    Roland XC540 PRO III
    54" laminator
    hammer and screwdriver (most used)
    little dog
    pooper scooper (2nd most used...)

Post Plastic Welder

dHi Signwave,

The Plastic Welder is called a "ThermoPlastic Welder" and is made by Pamran Elec. Co in New Jersey. It welds ABS,PVC, PE,PP and TPUP. The inital cost for the starter kit is around $180.00.
    I'ts essentially a heat gun with a smaller nozzle, filler feeder and whatever other accessories you desire. I installed a PVC fence around our pasture for the horses and used it to weld the joints on the gates I made. So far they've held up well.