Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Hybrid View

Default 1940's Willys CJ2A

hi I am a student (19yr old) going to be working on a Willys CJ2A to bring it back to life the way I want it.

before I dive into the body work I am practicing my welds.
    since I am new to body work, I dont really know what I am doing. I know that I dont want to heat up the metal to much or it will warp my body.

should I do a lot of tack welds or do I do constant weld but for a very short bead say 1''.

here are some of my test pieces.

for a start its good
    1 turn up the heat and hold time if you do stitch weld (lots of connected tacks)
    2 consistency keep the time or speed of travel the same and get the penetration
    3 body panels may be thin but poor penetration on the welds the panel will break out and rust
    4 use a fine flap wheel on the grinder or it the beads are nice keep them ( ive had customers look at my body panels on old school 40s trucks and 60-70s era mustangs and they wanted the beads)

5 practice practice practice its looking good
    Leblond Makino mills
    HAAS CNC SL-40 lathe
    American Pacemaker lathe
    wells index mill
    hydrotel rebuilt
    syncrowave 250
    diversion 165
    Miller Elite Vintage USA

thank you cncmachinist.

some actually told me to lay smaller constant beads around 1''. would that be more appropriate.

to me I think it would warp panels.

the other thing I was wondering is when tack welding I would need to have my wire speed and voltage set appropriate to the metal thickness (to hear a constant buzz) some were saying make voltage to penetrate and turn wire speed down allot, wouldnt that mean the welding wire would burn away faster and not really appropriate.

Default no expert but...