Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums
 
Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 50
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prairieville, Louisiana
    Posts
    139

    Smile This is from TN Fire Marshall

    0780-2-2-.03 RETROACTIVE ENFORCEMENT. Any existing building which conformed to the standards
    legally effective at the time of its construction shall not be subject to the standards adopted by reference in rule
    0780-2-2-.01, unless the nonconformity of the building to such standards poses a serious life safety hazard.
    However, any construction as defined in rule 0780-2-3-.01 undertaken after the effective date of this chapter shall be
    in compliance with the standards adopted by reference in rule 0780-2-2-.01
    .
    Authority: T.C.A.. §§53-2413, 68-102-113, 68-120-102, and Chapter 857, Public Acts of 1982. Administrative
    History: Original rule filed July 27, 1982; effective August 26, 1982. Amendment filed June 12, 2001; effective
    August 26, 2001.
    Millermatic 251
    Lincoln AC/DC "Tombstone"
    Milwaulkee Grinder 4 1/2"
    Clark Grinder 4 1/2"

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    29

    Default

    oh wow,
    I have a similar situation, but not with fuses. I do have an upgraded panel, but my home is so small. My house is almost 90 years old and all of the innards are heart pine. Any small fire would quickly encompass my home in a matter of minutes.
    In my earlier posts I inquired about running certain units from an 5,500 watt generator I have. It was my only power for 6 weeks after Hurricane Katrina.
    yes, I agree with everyone that you have a situation that you need to address with urgency, but consider running a welding unit from a generator or getting a self contained unit and keep it completely off of your house circuitry. If nothing else it gives you tremendous portability.
    tonyrico

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Near Great Smokies Ntl. Park
    Posts
    60

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tonyrico View Post
    oh wow,
    I have a similar situation, but not with fuses. I do have an upgraded panel, but my home is so small. My house is almost 90 years old and all of the innards are heart pine. Any small fire would quickly encompass my home in a matter of minutes.
    In my earlier posts I inquired about running certain units from an 5,500 watt generator I have. It was my only power for 6 weeks after Hurricane Katrina.
    yes, I agree with everyone that you have a situation that you need to address with urgency, but consider running a welding unit from a generator or getting a self contained unit and keep it completely off of your house circuitry. If nothing else it gives you tremendous portability.
    tonyrico
    I second to this message..I have been thinking to buy Millermatic 252 ASAP. I would use rental generator when I need. I will talk with electrical lic about my house's electrical panel TRW..I think so, I will replace all those old wires out and put new wires when I get off long weeks from work...
    THANKS bunch to all of MILLER WELDS ...
    Last edited by Ls2cam; 12-10-2007 at 08:30 PM.
    MillerMatic 211

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Seabrook, TX
    Posts
    43

    Default

    I used to be an electrician, and I can agree with all of the rest of the guys. You need to get that upgraded ASAP, that is a severe safety issue.

    Those price quotes sound about right. You might as well have the Elec. company check the rest of your house out as well.
    They don't call me Lucky for nothin'.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    gate city virgina
    Posts
    213

    Default

    i agree with homeowners insurance but with the high rates who can afford it my mother in law said on our other house she was paying 900 bucks every three months for it she had to drop the coverage and go with basic fire because it was just to costly id love to have home owners insurance on both of my houses if i could afford it. but maybe the prices are lower now than they were back then.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Killingworth,Ct.
    Posts
    372

    Default Jim

    Quote Originally Posted by Fishy Jim View Post
    I haven't actually run the numbers other than adding up my 24K in receipts for the whole project - but I figure I'm right around 1200 in wire alone. With 23 circuits in the shop alone, I think that's about right.

    Meter socket was mandated by the power co. as a "HD bypass box." The little prick in scheduling didn't even know what it was, other than thats what I had to provide. I asked him what model number was accepted and he couldn't tell me... 4 or 5 prongs? No clue! Well, that was an extra hundred in the hole for nothing - could've got one for 60 bucks if it didn't need the 5th prong. New digital meter they gave me still only has 4 prongs. :mad: The new socket does have lots of room to work in - like I'll ever have to run wires though it again. :rolleyes: Conduit is mandatory between the two boxes here. I had to have the socket and main panel inspected before the mains could be connected to my new service. Well, the inspector was running late and my lineman hooked me up anyway. No problems, the inspector arrived prior to him leaving and got it all signed off. I ended up running my house on a temp line run along the house for a couple months as I built the rest of the shop. I had to relocate the lines to make room to raise the trusses. The original wires were 2' above my walls.

    The other thing to watch for is meter height above grade. I put mine up so my panel was about the right height to be directly in front of me on the wall, but I still had to mount it upside down (mains on the bottom) because the meter had to be no higher than 6'. Mines 6'5 and the tech who set up the new meter mentioned he had co-workers who would refuse to service it (not my fault their original meter croaked from the lineman pulling it off under load). So be careful of what you do differently on the outside. I didn't think anyone would notice another 6", but I was wrong.

    I asked the guy if he needed a bench to stand on. He declined. :D

    As for the mast height - it has to be 13' above any deck or landscaping here. I put mine 3' above the roof because of a large oak tree the lines pass through. I didn't want any growth issues, and we ended up trimming a lot of branches when the lines were relocated as it was. Mid span at the far end of the shop is roughly 15' above grade, but I have 23" of drop over the 35' foundation. Before we put the level on it to erect the forms, all of us thought my back yard was flat. So flat it needed another 5 yards of concrete over the bid.

    Oh, and jack - here's the pot I piss in:
    Good looking pot!:D,Going with any type of crane,,I should be in whinin 2 weeks,then the overhead crane!!!!!I should have close to 16.5 ft to the hook!+ or _ a couple of inches,,and a Pole barn,is non taxable in Ct,Probably the only thing that isnt:mad:!!!!,But if I hade a foundation,then its taxable,But because Poles are in the ground,NO!:confused

    Looks good enjoy!,Jack,Ps,They also gave me a home owners for a 400 amp service,which is mandatory, They have to let you,so it wasnt the goodness out of the electric co:rolleyes:

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Mpls, MN
    Posts
    1,790

    Default

    I have two hundred amps at the shop panel. The house could be on its own 200A panel off the service connection, but there's really no need - it would just be money pissed away in copper and boxes that add nothing to functionality. Gas water heater, gas dryer, gas furnace; the house just doesn't need more than 100A so that's what I ran the wire for.

    Pole barns suck IMO. I wouldn't build one to work in. Maybe to store stuff that doesn't get used.

    Property taxes are pretty low here. The shop might add another $400 onto what we already pay, but I have 7 more years before they re-assess us.

    What hurts businesses here is commercial space taxes. I just bought a bunch of stuff from a hardware store owner who's closing up because his property taxes went up another grand up to $9500 a year on 3400sf and that's in a strip mall. Based on that alone, my shop will be free long before I even start paying taxes on it.

    So Jack, are you not getting aunties money or what? I'm still waiting for my summons.
    Syncrowave 250DX
    Invison 354MP
    XR Control and 30A

    Airco MED20 feeder
    Thermal Dynamics Cutmaster 81
    Smith O/A rig
    And more machinery than you can shake a 7018 rod at

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Killingworth,Ct.
    Posts
    372

    Default Jim

    Got ya guys goood!!!!!!!!!!!Probate is treating me well,Ill pm you with the details,,Jim,a Pole barn in my eyes,is nothing more than your shop!!!!Trusses,,and the inside will look like this,,Got to find it! But the same as your garage shop, there still wood! Found it,and there will be all J channel on cieling,so the stuffing doesnt fall out of the Bird!,,And all metal on out side,and roof,and nice little sitting area,couple of swinging seats!

    So what with the cranes,there most i took from the old shop,But still a Pain to put up!!!!!!!Gotta have them!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by storts; 12-11-2007 at 05:29 PM. Reason: need more

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Near Great Smokies Ntl. Park
    Posts
    60

    Default Will do replace

    Good news, I already get Lic. Electrical guys, wuld charge around $1,500 to do replace the power panel (200 AMP), add two 60 amps in garage and everything check on wires inside include outlets/receplactes.
    They would do at my house after next year (Jan 2008). They have many booked on other jobs right now.

    Thanks a bunch to all of you Miller Welds.
    Merry X- Mas ~N~ Happy Holidays
    MillerMatic 211

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Mpls, MN
    Posts
    1,790

    Default

    Except my walls are only 8" thick and have an R28 rating, and my ceiling has R60.

    I hate the exterior look of steel next to a house. Might as well park a mobile home next to it and leave the wheels exposed. They cheapen everything around them. Your timber framed house will lose value if you butt that ugly shack up next to it.

    As for my crane - I'm gonna make a run over to 3M (former employer) and see what they have surplus in beams. If they don't have anything, I'll be buying new. I've got a day or so left on the sheetrock and it'll be time to mud.

    Got us good, how? I want an apology or a summons.
    Syncrowave 250DX
    Invison 354MP
    XR Control and 30A

    Airco MED20 feeder
    Thermal Dynamics Cutmaster 81
    Smith O/A rig
    And more machinery than you can shake a 7018 rod at

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Non-static method PhpQuickProfiler::getMicroTime() should not be called statically in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/pqp/classes/Console.php on line 77

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in /mnt/stor3-wc1-dfw1/357822/357839/www.millerwelds.com/web/content/lib/footer.inc.php on line 82

Welding Projects

Special Offers: See the latest Miller deals and promotions.