Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Newbie with an older Roughneck 2E

Hello there. I just bought a Craiglist Roughneck 2E. Battery dead, not tested whatsoever. Knowing the Tecumseh will run after soaking the gunked up carburetor in Amonia (an old trick), I took a hunch and bought it. A few other guys were online to buy it also, and I'm lucky the seller went with me. First come first serve, I think.

AFTER starting up the motor, I have a few questions to resolve.

1.) What's the best way to find 50 foot leads cheaply? Make up the wires or buy them? I've seen 50 footers online at airgas for $240. Is this a good price? It seems high. That's $2.40 a foot.

2.) Can a wire feed unit be run from this unit? I'm a newbie, so the real question does MIG operate on 25 volts 50/60hz DC? And then if so, what is a good suggestion on a Miller model number for a wire feed unit?

Many Thanks for your time and expertise.

Default link to user manual

This is the Miller Roughneck 2E manual.

http://www.millerwelds.com/om/o420l_mil.pdf

I bet you ended up with a better deal than me on that welder.

As for leads - i`d watch craigslist, ebay, and check places that sell used welding equipment. I think Tractor Supply is charging like $2.69 a foot just for the cable. The price you were quoted is also on track with premierpowerwelder.com's prices.

And this is how I got one set of 20 ft leads for my premier power welder:

I bought an old Miller Thunderbolt for $50 - came with the leads with the correct lugs for my onboard welder, then I sold the Thunderbolt on craigslist for $75 after using it for a couple months for little things.

Goodluck.