Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Hybrid View

Default What to include in welders cart

I am new to welding and just got a red box 5000 HD as a starter. I want to make a cart for it and will probably do some plans up at school tomorrow on CAD. Any suggestions as to what i should include on the cart, such as space for certain tools... or any cool things that you guys did that worked out good? Let me know your ideas.

Thanks so much in advance!!!

A couple of items I find I am always looking for:

Welpers
    Clamps
    Marking Pens / Silverstreak
    Square
    Nozzle Dip
    Extension cable (I run a heavy duty 220 V)

Cutters for wire
    Wrenches/nut drivers for changing polarity or switching wire spools
    Metal thickness gauge
    Wire brush
    Pam spray for nozel
    Spare tips
    Soapstone
    Wire rolls
    Spare gloves

Nice to have a place to hang your jacket and helmet, too.

Excuse my ignorance, but what are welpers??? I have come across that term a couple of times now but since i am new to welding, it is a learning process.
    Thanks in advance for your replys and thanx for all the help, and advice.

This is a link to a picture of welpers:

http://www.airgas.com/browse/product...3&WT.svl=12293
    Burt
    Miller Thunderbolt XL
    http://www.10FtDrillBit.com

Default Something I WOULD NOT want on a cart

One item that no one mentioned, that has come up before is a fold-out shelf to lay things on. BAD PLAN!! If you do make one, the day will come when you just need to touch up something with the grinder. No matter how dedicated we try to be, that "just a quick touch-up" will occur. You do not want that grinding dust in or near your welder.

Best of luck with the project.

Jerry in Anchorage