Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default millermatic 130 xp

I'm just getting started in welding and have purchased a 130 xp tonite I was praticing and was joining a 1/8 inch steel to a 3/16 inch and had my machine controls set on 4 and 40 and was using a number 10 shield hood and flux wire .030 everything was going fine when I got this intense flash that lit up my # 10 shield then my arc went back to normal this happened twice on my weld. I've never had such an intense flash I had black spots in my eyes for awhile. then after about 6hrs my eyes feel a little irritated. Can anyone tell me what caused the intense flash and how to prevent it . and is a # 10 face shield enough. thanks Ken

Can't comment on the flash, but a #10 should be fine for the amperage you're working with.
    Millermatic Passport Plus
    Millermatic 200

Millermatic 350P with Python
    XMT 304 /w S-64 feeder and 12VS
    Dynasty 300 DX
    Thermal Arc 400 MST
    Victor O/A
    Premier Power Welder for my trail junk.

Auto hood or glass shade?

If it's an auto, that happens when your optical sensors are blocked from the arc and it turns the lens off.

As for the "flash burn" (your eyes) - that'll get better in a day or two. Read up on it. I know there's a few home remedies floating around. Might even try searching the forums here.
    Syncrowave 250DX
    Invison 354MP
    XR Control and 30A

Airco MED20 feeder
    Thermal Dynamics Cutmaster 81
    Smith O/A rig
    And more machinery than you can shake a 7018 rod at

Cool

Home remedy for flash burns that wake you up at 2 in the morning: 4 aspirins followed by two shots good bourbon back to back. Go straight to bed and don't call me in the morning. To determine if your shade is good, Weld for a minute then close your eyes. If you see spots, get a darker shade.