Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Exclamation Welding torsion axles

I'm very new to this. I'm probably not even in the right place but here goes anyway. Does anybody know if you can stretch torsion axles? By this I mean I want to make some very heavy duty axles I have wider. I know that they have rubber in them and that I can't get it hot, but does the rubber go all the way across the inside of the tube or would the center of the tube be empty? If anybody has any ideas or advice I'd really appreciate it...Thanks

Cool

Nope can't make them wider...Bob
    Bob Wright, Grandson of Tee Nee Boat Trailer Founder
    Metal Master Fab Salem, Oh 44460
    Birthplace of the Silver & Deming Drill
    1999 MM185 w/185 Spoolgun,1986 Thunderbolt AC/DC
    Spool Gun conversion. How To Do It. Below.
    http://www.millerwelds.com/resources...php?albumid=48

Default curious

what are you building

Out here in the middle of pacific, you do things that might not be done in other less remote places. I've shortened and lengthened them. The two kinds that we have here the torsion bar extends about 20'' into the axle housing. Just keep it cool with wet rags and don't under build on your project.

Quote Originally Posted by aametalmaster View Post
    Nope can't make them wider...Bob
    Why not?

Cool

The ones we had a few years back had a square steel bar the whole length with the torsion arms and the spindles on the ends. Then there was 4 triangle strips of rubber between the steel bar and the axle tubing that acted as a spring. These are what we used. http://www.dexteraxle.com/torflex_axles The square bar had to be one piece and welded to the torsion arm or it would of pulled out over time...Bob
    Bob Wright, Grandson of Tee Nee Boat Trailer Founder
    Metal Master Fab Salem, Oh 44460
    Birthplace of the Silver & Deming Drill