Miller Electric

Welding Discussion Forums

Home » Resources » Communities » Welding Discussion Forums

Miller Welding Discussion Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Hybrid View

Question 409 SS Muffler Wire Recomendation

Gents I am a plumbing contractor by trade so please excuse me if this is a bonehead DIY question but I need to know. I have a Millermatic 130XP and I want to weld "Pypes" brand SS exhaust piping (409 SS they tell me) . The project truck is frame off so I can tack weld and then remove sections to get it in posistions other than up-side-down for welding. The pipe is not thick* so am I right in looking for .023 diameter wire and what would the "Call-Out" be for the type of wire? I do not think I want a super hard material. I am kinda lost here so any help would be greatly appreciated, including where to buy it, and of coarse I only need a small roll. My research says I should use TriMix gas as well yes? I know i could use my standard wire but I do not want rust to show up.

* I will need to weld up header flanges so my system is modular and that is thick to thin material but most of the work is thin.

Thank YOU!

Default "409"

Quote Originally Posted by .Artisan. View Post
    Gents I am a plumbing contractor by trade so please excuse me if this is a bonehead DIY question but I need to know. I have a Millermatic 130XP and I want to weld "Pypes" brand SS exhaust piping (409 SS they tell me) . The project truck is frame off so I can tack weld and then remove sections to get it in posistions other than up-side-down for welding. The pipe is not thick* so am I right in looking for .023 diameter wire and what would the "Call-Out" be for the type of wire? I do not think I want a super hard material. I am kinda lost here so any help would be greatly appreciated, including where to buy it, and of coarse I only need a small roll. My research says I should use TriMix gas as well yes? I know i could use my standard wire but I do not want rust to show up.